About Us

Grand Valley Artists was founded in 1957 and is one of the oldest art groups in the Midwest and the oldest in Michigan. Not happy with the then-popular modern art focus of the local art community, Bill Kubiak, Armand Merizon, and Carl Forsund decided to start a group to focus instead on Realism and traditional art. GVA has grown to be a place where artists of all levels and media are welcome to meet, discuss, learn, and grow.

See the calendar on this website to learn about the many opportunities available, including weekly still life, portrait, plein air and figurative studio sessions, monthly critique, monthly program, and monthly photography gathering.

If you'd like to learn more about our organization from one of the current members, we will be happy to talk with you. We've provided our emails below. 

Our address is located in the Cooper's Landing building at 1345 Monroe Ave NW, Suite 140, Grand Rapids, MI, 49505. We can also be contacted by email here: http://grandvalleyartists.com/contact.

Models
Would you like to model for our figure drawing or portrait group? If so, please contact Kathleen Bechtel at kathleen.bechtel@yahoo.com or Mary Marin at marymarin@comcast.net.

Follow us on facebook: Grand Valley Artists

Grand Valley Artists proudly display their work at:

Cascade Public Library
2870 Jack Smith Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
(616) 784-2007
http://www.kdl.org/branches/8

If you are interested in showing your work at the library, contact Candice Chovanec at candicechovanec@yahoo.com.

Also, our artists display their work at 

Bliss & Vinegar
888 Forest Hills Avenue SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
 
To display your work at B&V, contact Marty Klar at 616-813-7921.

Our 2017 Leadership

President: Carol Laurn (carollaurn@yahoo.com)

Vice President: Emily Green (ww.emilyg@gmail.com

Treasurer: Evie Carrier (evie.carrier@gmail.com)

Secretary: Dana Donnell (DanaBDonnell@gmail.com)

Membership: Mary Myszka (mysz312@comcast.net)

Photography: Lora Cecola (loracecola@mac.com)

Program: Randy Nyhof (r.nyhof@comcast.net)

Publicity: Steve Scarborough (stevescarb1@yahoo.com)

Newsletter and Website: Mary Marin (marymarin@comcast.net)

Reeds Lake: Bob Kraai (rkraai@ameritech.net)

Sketch Studio: Kathy Bechtel, Dave Bazen, Larry Goff

Hospitality: Peg McKeown, (mcperfitt@me.com)

Facilities Coordinator: Dave Bazen (dbazen@bazenelectric.com)

Legacy: Position open

 
 
 
Want to Join or Ready to Renew? Fill out the online form here.