About Us

Grand Valley Artists was founded in 1957 and is one of the oldest art groups in the Midwest and the oldest in Michigan. Not happy with the then-popular modern art focus of the local art community, Bill Kubiak, Armand Merizon, and Carl Forsund decided to start a group to focus instead on Realism and traditional art. GVA has grown to be a place where artists of all levels and media are welcome to meet, discuss, learn, and grow. Over the years, we've come to embrace all styles, from representational to abstract to non-representational art in all its forms.

See the calendar on this website to learn about the many opportunities available, including weekly still life, portrait, plein air and figurative studio sessions, monthly critique, monthly program, and monthly photography gathering.

If you'd like to learn more about our organization from one of the current members, we will be happy to talk with you. We've provided our emails below. 

Our studio is located at 1695 Service Rd. NE, Suite 106, Grand Rapids, MI 49503. 

Models
Would you like to model for our figure drawing or portrait group? If so, please contact Kathleen Bechtel at kathleen.bechtel@yahoo.com or Mary Marin at marymarin1285@gmail.com.

Follow us on facebook: Grand Valley Artists

Grand Valley Artists proudly display their work at:

Trinity United Methodist Church
1100 Lake Drive SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506

If you are interested in showing your work at the church, contact Mary Marin at marymarin1285@gmail.com.

Also, our artists display their work at 

Bliss & Vinegar
888 Forest Hills Avenue SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
 
To display your work at B&V, contact Marty Klar at 616-813-7921.

Our 2018 Leadership

President: Carol Laurn (carollaurn@yahoo.com)

Vice President: Emily Green (ww.emilyg@gmail.com

Treasurer: Evie Carrier (evie.carrier@gmail.com)

Secretary: Dana Donnell (DanaBDonnell@gmail.com)

Interim Membership: Mary Baine (marymbaine@gmail.com)

Membership: Mary Myszka (mysz312@comcast.net)

Photography: Lora Cecola (loracecola@mac.com)

Program: Randy Nyhof (r.nyhof@comcast.net)

Publicity: Steve Scarborough (stevescarb1@yahoo.com)

Newsletter and Website: Mary Marin (marymarin1285@gmail.com)

Reeds Lake: Bob Kraai (rkraai@ameritech.net)

Sketch Studio: Kathy Bechtel, Dave Bazen, Mary Marin

Hospitality: Peg McKeown, (mcperfitt@me.com)

Facilities Coordinator: Dave Bazen (dbazen@bazenelectric.com)

Legacy Liaison: Joanne Swann (joswann@sbcglobal.net)

501(c)(3) Coordinator: Position open

Outreach: Douglas Klemm (dougklemm@hotmail.com)

Social Media: Position open

We can also be contacted by email here: http://grandvalleyartists.com/contact.
 
Want to Join or Ready to Renew? Fill out the online form here.